Warning: mysql_fetch_assoc(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/filmfest/public_html/typo3_src-4.0.1/t3lib/class.t3lib_db.php on line 801

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/filmfest/public_html/typo3_src-4.0.1/t3lib/class.t3lib_db.php:801) in /home/filmfest/public_html/typo3_src-4.0.1/typo3/sysext/cms/tslib/class.tslib_fe.php on line 2827
São Paulo International Film Festival - an FFW festival profile
Inquire about the FFW Consulting Services

Film Festival World

Site Map
Sign In Join

São Paulo International Film Festival

Click on Thumbnail for Large Image

  • Sao Paulo, Brazil October 2015, TBA
  • Call for Entry Deadline: July 2015, TBA
  • Festival Data:
    • Established: 1977
    • Attendance: 180000
    • Total Number of Films Screened: 329
    • Total Screenings: 900
    • # of Shorts Screened: 61
    • # of Features Screened: 268
    • Competitive
    • Has Panels
  • Festival Website:
  • Festival Description:

    SÃO PAULO INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVAL includes these two sections:

    NEW FILMMAKERS COMPETITION – A competitive section for filmmakers of first or second fiction or documentary features. All films in the NEW FILMMAKERS COMPETITION selection will be evaluated by a selection committee. The winners of the NEW FILMMAKERS COMPETITION will receive from MOSTRA the BANDEIRA PAULISTA TROPHY, a creation by acclaimed Brazilian designer TOMIE OHTAKE

    INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVE – A panorama of the most important and representative production in world cinema in the last two years. Inscriptions of films whether features, medium-length or short films will be accepted whatever the media, subject, or nationality. International Perspective will be divided into International Section, Brazilian Section and Medium-Length and Short Section. All of the films included in INTERNATIONAL PERSPECTIVE will compete for the Audience Award.

    There is also be a program of SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS to complement festival workshops.

  • Film Submissions:
  • Email:info(at)mostra.org
    Phone:(55) 11 3141 0413
    Fax:(55) 11 3266 7066
    Mailing Address: Rua Antonio Carlos, 288 2nd floor
    Sao Paulo 01309-010


  • 1

  • Buzz

  • Deals

  • Parties

  • Questions

  • Reviews

  • Travel Tips
Sign in
Members posting on this page
  • Best Film: "The World"
    Directed By: Jia Zhang-ke

    Humanity Award: Israeli filmmaker Amos Gitaï for his body of work that includes: Kippur (2000) and Disengagement (2007)

    Critics Award: "The Human Question"
    Directed By: Nicolas Klotz

    the Jury Award for Newcomer and the Youth Award: "Post Cards from Leningrad"
    Directed By: Mariana Rondón

    Audience Award for Best Foreign Fiction Film (tie): "Into the Wild"
    Directed By: Sean Penn (USA)

    Directed By: Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Parannaud (France)

    Audience Award for Best Medium-Length Film: "Letters to a Dictator"
    Directed By: Inês de Medeiros

    Audience Award For Best Foreign Documentary: "The Queen’s Movie"
    Directed By: Sergio Mercurio (Argentina)

    Best Brazilian Documentary: "Pindorama – The True Story of the Seven Dwarfs"
    Directed By: Roberto Berliner, Leo Crivelare and Lula Queiroga

    TeleImage award for finalizing which includes an award of 30 hours of off-line telecine (transformation of the 35mm film to digital, 15 minutes of transfer (passage of the digital image to 35mm film) and 60 hours of sound editing: "Pindorama – The True Story of the Seven Dwarfs"
    Directed By: Roberto Berliner, Leo Crivelare and Lula Queiroga

    Audience Award for Best Brazilian Feature Length Film: "Stories from Trancoso"
    Directed By: Augusto Sevá

    TeleImage Award: "Stories from Trancoso"
    Directed By: Augusto Sevá

    Best Documentary Chosen by a Special Jury: "They Turned Our Desert into Fire"
    Directed By: Mark Brecke

    Best Brazilian Short Film: "The Actress’s Crime"
    Directed By: Elza Cataldo

    Best Foreign Short Film: "Under Construction"
    Directed By: Zhenchen Liu (France)

    Special Mention: Little Martin
    Directed By: Violaine Bellet (France)

    Special Jury Prize: "Tricks"
    Directed By: Andrzej Jakimowski (Poland)

    Special Jury Prize for Best Actress: Carla Ribas for "Alice’s House"
    Directed By: Chico Teixeira

    Bandeira Paulista Award for Best Film chosen by the Audience: "The Pope’s Toilet"
    Directed By: Enrique Fernández and César Charlone
Url of this record:http:/ / www.filmfestivalworld.com/ festival/ Sao_Paulo_Intl_Film_Festival/
Print this Record Save this RecordAdd Festival Notification